Hi, I’m Scott.

Scott McLemore
2 min readDec 7, 2021

--

The author at home in Iceland.

Thanks for stopping by. I’ll keep this brief since I’ve already incorporated some of my personal experience into my writing. You can find links to my most popular articles below.

I was born in Norfolk, Virginia in 1973 and grew up there and in neighboring Virginia Beach. I’ve been playing the drums professionally since 1989. In 1997 graduated from William Paterson College in New Jersey, where I met my wife, pianist Sunna Gunnlaugs. That year we moved across the river to Brooklyn, NY where we were active on the jazz and improvised music scene.

In search of a creative career that could supplement our income, both of us became graphic designers. Sunna actually has a masters degree from Pratt University and I worked for Hyperakt in its infancy. We continued to perform as musicians in New York and began touring in North America and Europe.

In 2005, we moved to Iceland and now have 2 daughters and a black Labrador. I still tour with various projects including Sunna’s trio and my band Multiverse.

In May 2021 I was diagnosed with Autism which was an eye-opening event. I’ve always enjoyed writing and with the diagnosis came the realization that I needed to tend to my creative self a lot more. I started writing for the Medium publication Creative Enlightenment and set up a page on Patreon where I show work in progress and behind-the-scenes of my composition process, post weekly improvised drum solos as well as previews of what I’m writing for Medium.

I also write a newsletter called “The Interval” which is a weekly run-down of creative output and inspiration.

For more on my music check my website and connect with me via the social media links below. Thanks for reading!

Connect

Become a Patron

Please, consider becoming a Patron. For just $1/month you can get a behind-the-scenes look at my creative process as a composer, drummer and writer.

--

--

Scott McLemore

I’m a drummer/composer/designer living in Iceland. I mostly play jazz and make espresso, but I’ve enjoyed writing since I was little. https://scottmclemore.com